Citable filing context
AIG's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with debt_offering from Sep 24, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2026 | debt_offering | AIG closed the sale of €625 million of 4.250% notes and €500 million of 4.750% notes. |
| Sep 16, 2026 | management_change | Jon Hancock, CEO of General Insurance, will retire and transition to Senior Advisor effective December 31, 2026. |
| Sep 2, 2026 | management_change | Peter Zaffino to step down as Executive Chair, with Lead Independent Director John Rice named Board Chair. |
| Aug 5, 2021 | Guidance: debt_reduction | 2.50 to not reported |
| Aug 5, 2021 | Guidance: share_repurchases | 2.00 to not reported |
| May 4, 2020 | Guidance: adjusted_return_on_common_equity | not reported to not reported |
| Aug 7, 2026 | mda_quarterly | AIG’s second quarter 2026 performance reflects a focus on strategic portfolio optimization and underwriting discipline. The company reported net income of $948 million, down from $1.14 billion in the prior-year period, primarily due to volatility in investment valuations, specifically regarding its equity securities and the divestiture of its remaining interest in Corebridge Financial. General Insurance remains the core driver of results, with underwriting income rising to $686 million from $626 million. This improvement was supported by a combined ratio of 89.0%, benefiting from favorable prior-year reserve development in U.S. Workers’ Compensation and lower catastrophe losses compared to the previous year. However, the International Commercial segment faced a higher combined ratio due to increased catastrophe activity, including losses related to the Middle East conflict. Strategic activity was significant, highlighted by the February 2026 acquisition of a 35% stake in Convex Group Limited and a 9.9% stake in Onex Corporation. Concurrently, AIG completed the full exit of its Corebridge investment. The company continues to manage its long-tail liabilities through reinsurance arrangements, notably with Fortitude Re and NICO. AIG maintains a robust capital position, with $2.6 billion remaining under its share repurchase authorization as of July 31, 2026. |
| May 1, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Net income attributable to common shareholders increased to $763 million, primarily driven by a significant improvement in the General Insurance combined ratio, which fell to 87.3 from 95.8. This performance was bolstered by lower catastrophe losses—decreasing from $525 million in Q1 2025 to $180 million in Q1 2026—and favorable prior year reserve development in U.S. Property and high net worth lines. Net premiums written grew 24% to $5.6 billion. Conversely, net investment income declined to $712 million, largely due to fair value adjustments in equity securities and the remaining stake in Corebridge Financial. Strategically, AIG expanded its specialty and asset management footprint by acquiring a 35% interest in Convex Group Limited for $2.1 billion and a 9.9% stake in Onex Corporation for $642 million. The company further divested Corebridge shares, reducing its ownership to 5.6%. The investment portfolio, featuring $70.5 billion in bonds available for sale, is shifting toward structured securities to enhance yields. Key risks include catastrophe volatility, with winter storms emerging as a primary Q1 2026 driver, and ongoing pressures within the commercial real estate market. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 24, 2026; filed Sep 24, 2026.
AIG company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.