Citable filing context
CF's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with management_change from Sep 3, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 3, 2026 | management_change | Richard A. Hoker, VP, Corporate Controller, and Chief Accounting Officer, announced his retirement effective March 3, 2027. |
| Aug 5, 2026 | earnings | CF Industries reported Q2 2026 net earnings of $727 million and adjusted EBITDA of $1.2 billion. |
| Aug 5, 2026 | earnings | CF Industries reported Q2 2026 net earnings of $727 million and first half 2026 net earnings of $1.34 billion. |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: capital_expenditures | not reported to 950.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: capital_expenditures | not reported to 1300.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: gross_ammonia_production | not reported to 9.50 |
| Aug 6, 2026 | mda_quarterly | CF Industries reported strong financial performance for the second quarter of 2026, with net earnings attributable to common stockholders rising 88% to $727 million compared to the same period in 2025. This growth was driven by a 39% increase in average selling prices to $523 per ton, fueled by a tight global nitrogen supply-demand balance exacerbated by geopolitical instability, specifically the conflict with Iran and its impact on Middle Eastern fertilizer and LNG exports. The company’s core product segments—Ammonia, Granular Urea, and UAN—benefited from these elevated price environments, though total sales volume declined 15% to 4.3 million tons, partly due to the idling of the Yazoo City complex following a November 2025 incident. While the company recorded a $23 million asset impairment related to the Yazoo City rebuild, this was partially offset by $50 million in business interruption insurance recoveries. Strategic focus remains on decarbonization, with the Blue Point One joint venture (40% owned by CF) advancing construction of a low-carbon ammonia facility. The company is also leveraging Section 45Q tax credits from its Donaldsonville carbon capture project. Despite ongoing antitrust litigation and permitting challenges at the Blue Point complex, the company maintains a robust liquidity position with $2.48 billion in cash and full availability under its $750 million revolving credit facility. |
| May 7, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Net earnings attributable to common stockholders for the first quarter of 2026 increased to $615 million, with net sales rising to $1.99 billion. This growth was primarily driven by a 28% increase in average selling prices to $424 per ton, resulting from tight global nitrogen supply and demand exacerbated by the conflict with Iran and disruptions to Middle East exports and Qatar LNG facilities. These gains were partially offset by a 24% increase in natural gas costs to $4.57 per MMBtu and lower sales volumes in the AN segment due to the Yazoo City incident, which idled production until at least late 2026. Strategic focus remains on decarbonization, highlighted by the completed Donaldsonville project, which generated $24 million in 45Q tax credits, and the $3.7 billion Blue Point joint venture with JERA and Mitsui targeting low-carbon ammonia production by 2029 for European and Japanese markets. Financial performance was further bolstered by a $170 million litigation settlement gain from Orica. Full-year 2026 capital expenditures are projected at $1.3 billion, including $600 million for the Blue Point facility. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 3, 2026; filed Sep 3, 2026.
CF company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.