Citable filing context
D's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with material_agreement from Sep 14, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 14, 2026 | material_agreement | Dominion Energy and NextEra Energy announced an enhanced Virginia benefits package for their proposed business combination. |
| Sep 3, 2026 | acquisition | Dominion Energy shareholders approved the company's proposed merger with NextEra Energy, Inc. |
| Aug 25, 2026 | other | Dominion Energy issued supplemental proxy disclosures in response to shareholder litigation regarding its pending merger with NextEra Energy. |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Guidance: operating_earnings | 3.45 to 3.69 |
| May 18, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps_growth | 9.00 to not reported |
| May 18, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps_growth | 9.00 to not reported |
| Jul 31, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Dominion Energy’s financial performance for the first half of 2026 reflects significant operational challenges and a major strategic shift. The company reported net income attributable to Dominion Energy of $961 million, down from $1.43 billion in the same period of 2025, largely driven by a $859 million impairment charge. This impairment includes an $820 million write-down of nonregulated renewable natural gas facilities within the Contracted Energy segment, as the company now expects to sell these assets before the end of their useful lives. A defining development is the May 2026 agreement to be acquired by NextEra Energy. The merger, expected to close in the second half of 2027, includes a $2.25 billion customer rate credit package and requires Dominion to redeem Series C Preferred Stock and settle certain forward sales contracts. Capital expenditure remains high, particularly for the CVOW Commercial Project, which faces an estimated $11.7 billion cost. The project has been impacted by revised PJM network upgrade costs and new Section 232 tariffs. Additionally, the company is navigating regulatory proceedings in Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina, including a pending $1.0 billion fuel cost securitization in Virginia and a recently approved $219 million base rate increase in South Carolina. |
| May 1, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Dominion Energy’s financial results for the first quarter of 2026 reflect a complex operating environment characterized by significant capital investment and regulatory activity. Operating revenue rose to $5.02 billion from $4.08 billion in the prior-year period, though net income attributable to Dominion Energy declined to $621 million from $665 million. The company continues to advance major infrastructure projects, most notably the 2.6 GW Coastal Virginia Offshore Wind (CVOW) Commercial Project, which faces ongoing cost pressures from evolving tariff structures and PJM network upgrade allocations. In the first quarter of 2026, Virginia Power recorded a $117 million net benefit related to non-recoverable project costs, though management anticipates potential future charges due to revised Section 232 tariffs. Strategic portfolio management remains a priority; Dominion Energy has committed to selling certain nonregulated solar assets, resulting in a $78 million impairment charge. Furthermore, the company is evaluating the potential sale of its nonregulated renewable natural gas facilities, which could trigger an impairment of up to $850 million. Regulatory developments include a pending base rate case in North Carolina and the implementation of a carbon trading program in Virginia. The company maintains robust liquidity, supported by its joint revolving credit facility and recent long-term debt issuances. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 14, 2026; filed Sep 14, 2026.
D company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.