Citable filing context
HAL's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with management_change from Sep 16, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 | management_change | Maurice S. Smith was elected Lead Independent Director, receiving an additional $40,000 annual retainer. |
| Jul 21, 2026 | earnings | Halliburton reported second quarter 2026 revenue of $5.7 billion and net income of $534 million. |
| Jun 29, 2026 | management_change | Halliburton announced the death of board member Abdulaziz F. Al Khayyal on June 24, 2026. |
| Jul 21, 2026 | Guidance: north_america_performance | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 21, 2026 | Guidance: revenue_growth | not reported to not reported |
| Oct 24, 2023 | Guidance: demand_growth | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 24, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Halliburton reported second-quarter 2026 revenue of $5.7 billion, a 4% year-over-year increase, driven by a 7% revenue gain in the Drilling and Evaluation segment. Conversely, the Completion and Production segment remained flat, hampered by the divestiture of a portion of its chemical business and pricing pressure in stimulation services within US Land and Latin America. Geographically, the company saw strong growth in Latin America (15%) and Europe/Africa/CIS (24%), while Middle East/Asia revenue declined 11% due to geopolitical conflict-related disruptions. Management maintains a capital expenditure target of $1.1 billion for 2026, prioritizing international expansion in artificial lift, well intervention, and drilling technologies. The company continues to navigate inflationary pressures in logistics and materials through procurement strategies and technology-driven efficiencies. Liquidity remains robust with $2.0 billion in cash and equivalents and a $3.5 billion revolving credit facility. Halliburton continues to execute its capital return framework, aiming to return over 50% of annual free cash flow to shareholders. A significant ongoing risk involves a $640 million tax dispute with the IRS regarding the 2016 Baker Hughes merger termination fee, which the company is currently contesting through the administrative appeals process. |
| Apr 24, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Halliburton reported first-quarter 2026 revenue of $5.4 billion, flat year-over-year, with operating income rising to $679 million from $431 million in the prior-year period. The Completion and Production segment saw a 3% revenue decline, driven by reduced stimulation activity in North America and geopolitical disruptions in the Middle East. Conversely, the Drilling and Evaluation segment grew 4%, bolstered by project management gains in Latin America and increased drilling services in Europe and the Western Hemisphere. Geopolitics remain a primary headwind, with Middle East conflicts negatively impacting diluted earnings per share by $0.02 to $0.03. While North American revenue fell 4% due to lower US Land stimulation and artificial lift activity, international revenue rose 3%. Management maintains a $1.1 billion capital expenditure target for 2026, prioritizing investments in electric fracturing, automated well-construction, and international expansion. The company continues to return over 50% of free cash flow to shareholders. A significant ongoing risk involves an IRS dispute regarding a $3.5 billion 2016 merger termination fee; an adverse ruling could result in $640 million in cash tax liabilities. Additionally, the company is migrating to SAP S4, incurring $42 million in quarterly expenses, and plans to sell a portion of its chemical business by 2026. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 16, 2026; filed Sep 16, 2026.
HAL company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.