Citable filing context
HBAN's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with management_change from Sep 24, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2026 | management_change | Helga S. Houston, Senior Executive Vice President, announced her retirement effective December 31, 2026. |
| Sep 18, 2026 | dividend_change | Huntington declared a quarterly cash dividend of $0.35625 per depositary share on its 5.70% Series I preferred stock. |
| Sep 16, 2026 | other | Huntington Bancshares executives presented at the 2026 Barclays Global Financial Services Conference on September 16, 2026. |
| Sep 16, 2026 | Guidance: average_deposits_growth | not reported to not reported |
| Sep 16, 2026 | Guidance: average_loans_growth | not reported to not reported |
| Sep 16, 2026 | Guidance: core_expense_growth | 32.50 to 33.50 |
| Jul 28, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Huntington Bancshares Incorporated (HBAN) reported net income of $727 million for the second quarter of 2026, compared to $536 million in the year-ago quarter. Financial results were significantly impacted by the acquisitions of Veritex Holdings, Inc. (completed October 2025) and Cadence Bank (completed February 2026), which drove a 35% increase in average earning assets and a 37% increase in average deposits. Net interest income (FTE) rose 40% to $2.1 billion, supported by a 10-basis-point expansion in the net interest margin to 3.21%, primarily due to lower funding costs. Credit quality remains within the company’s moderate-to-low risk appetite, though nonperforming assets increased 71% to $1.6 billion, largely due to assets assumed in the Cadence acquisition. The allowance for credit losses (ACL) grew to $3.4 billion, or 1.78% of total loans, reflecting both organic growth and acquired loan portfolios. Noninterest expense rose 51% to $1.8 billion, driven by $152 million in acquisition-related costs and increased personnel and technology expenses. Huntington maintains a strong liquidity position, with customer deposits funding 76% of total assets. The company’s CET1 capital ratio was 10.0% at quarter-end, reflecting the impact of the Cadence merger and ongoing share repurchases. |
| Apr 30, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Huntington Bancshares’ first-quarter 2026 results were primarily shaped by the recent acquisitions of Veritex and Cadence Bank. Net income attributable to Huntington was $523 million ($0.25 per diluted share), a slight year-over-year decline driven by $263 million in acquisition-related expenses. Despite this, net interest income rose 33% to $1.89 billion, supported by a 14 basis point increase in FTE net interest margin to 3.24% and a 27% expansion in average earning assets. Total assets reached $285.4 billion, a 27% increase from the prior year, largely due to the $8.3 billion Cadence transaction. Credit risk management remains a focus as nonperforming assets (NPAs) rose 44% to $1.4 billion, primarily due to assumed Cadence assets, and the provision for credit losses increased 37% to $158 million. Commercial real estate (CRE) exposure grew 60% to $24.3 billion, with management monitoring office loan risks and business banking defaults. The Allowance for Credit Losses (ACL) stands at $3.4 billion. The company’s balance sheet remains asset-sensitive, and management continues to monitor macroeconomic uncertainties, including geopolitical instability and potential shifts in the federal funds rate. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 24, 2026; filed Sep 24, 2026.
HBAN company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.