Citable filing context
HUM's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with guidance_update from Sep 1, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 1, 2026 | guidance_update | Humana reaffirmed its FY 2026 guidance of at least $6.52 GAAP EPS and $9.00 Adjusted EPS. |
| Jul 29, 2026 | management_change | Humana Inc. elected Paul J. Smith and Frederick J. Crawford to its Board of Directors. |
| Jul 29, 2026 | earnings | Humana reported 2Q26 GAAP EPS of $5.73 and adjusted EPS of $7.61, while revising FY 2026 GAAP EPS guidance. |
| Sep 1, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps | 9.00 to not reported |
| Sep 1, 2026 | Guidance: diluted_eps | 6.52 to not reported |
| Jul 29, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps | 9.00 to not reported |
| Jul 29, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Humana’s financial performance for the first half of 2026 reflects significant membership growth in Medicare Advantage, partially offset by a 140-basis-point increase in the consolidated benefit ratio to 91.1% for the second quarter. This margin pressure stems from the 2026 Star Ratings revenue headwind, the higher benefit utilization of new members, and reduced favorable prior-period medical claims development. To mitigate these pressures, the company is executing a multi-year transformation program, incurring $154 million in charges through June 2026 for severance, asset impairments, and consulting. The Insurance segment remains the primary revenue driver, bolstered by increased CMS benchmark funding and Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) subsidies. Simultaneously, the CenterWell segment continues to expand its payor-agnostic client base, highlighted by the $908 million acquisition of the Florida-based primary care platform MaxHealth in February 2026. While the Insurance segment’s operating cost ratio improved due to scale, the CenterWell segment faced integration costs and the final phase-in of the v28 risk model. Humana maintains a strong liquidity position with $6.9 billion in cash and equivalents, supported by $3.2 billion in operating cash flow, providing sufficient capital for ongoing operations, debt management, and strategic investments despite a highly regulated and evolving legislative environment. |
| Apr 29, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Humana reported Q1 2026 total revenues of $39.6 billion, a 23.5% increase driven by Medicare membership growth, higher CMS benchmark funding, and Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) Part D subsidies. Net income attributable to the company was $1.19 billion, down from $1.24 billion in Q1 2025. The consolidated benefit ratio rose 240 basis points to 89.4%, pressured by BY 2026 Star Ratings headwinds and higher utilization among new Medicare Advantage members. Conversely, the operating cost ratio improved to 10.2% due to operating leverage and a multi-year transformation program aimed at re-aligning the company's cost structure and technology footprint. Strategically, Humana acquired Florida-based primary care platform MaxHealth for $908 million to expand its CenterWell segment. The company continues shifting toward value-based care, with 64% of individual Medicare Advantage members now in integrated care delivery relationships. Key financial risks include the phase-in of the v28 risk model revision and potential regulatory restrictions on vertical integration and reimbursement rates. To manage liquidity, Humana issued $1.0 billion in junior subordinated notes in March 2026. The company recorded $98 million in charges this quarter related to workforce optimization and asset impairments as part of its value creation initiatives. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 1, 2026; filed Sep 1, 2026.
HUM company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.