Citable filing context

KR filing events and research context

Server-rendered

KR's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with earnings from Sep 11, 2026.

KR filing events and research context
FiledItemContext
Sep 11, 2026earningsKroger reported Q2 2026 EPS of $1.05 and updated its full-year sales guidance.
Sep 11, 2026earningsKroger reported Q2 2026 EPS of $1.05 and updated its full-year identical sales guidance.
Sep 2, 2026management_changeKroger appointed Mark Ibbotson as Executive Vice President and Chief Store Operations Officer, effective September 14, 2026.
Sep 11, 2026Guidance: adjusted_diluted_eps5.10 to 5.30
Sep 11, 2026Guidance: adjusted_diluted_eps5.10 to 5.30
Sep 11, 2026Guidance: adjusted_effective_tax_ratenot reported to not reported
Sep 18, 2026mda_quarterlyFor the second quarter of 2026, total sales rose 2.0% year-over-year to $34.62 billion, driven by a 25.6% increase in supermarket fuel revenue from higher retail gas prices. Identical sales excluding fuel edged up 0.2%, supported by 14% eCommerce growth and strong performance in natural foods, pharmacy, bakery, and meat and seafood. Top-line expansion was tempered by customer shifts to generic prescriptions, egg deflation, a Cyclospora outbreak, and Inflation Reduction Act impacts. Second-quarter operating profit grew 12.5% to $971 million, while adjusted FIFO operating profit declined 1.4% to $1.08 billion. Adjusted diluted earnings per share rose 4.8% to $1.09, lifted by share repurchases and lower LIFO charges despite associate wage investments, elevated healthcare expenses, and sales deleverage. Strategically, the company announced an agreement to acquire Giant Eagle for $1.65 billion ($1.25 billion cash and $400 million assumed debt), targeting a fiscal 2027 close. Year-to-date operating cash flow reached $3.09 billion, funding $2.7 billion in capital expenditures, $1.28 billion in share repurchases, and a $569 million debt reduction, leaving $1.7 billion in cash and temporary investments alongside an undrawn $2.75 billion revolving credit facility.
Jun 26, 2026mda_quarterlyTotal sales for the first quarter of 2026 increased 2.2% to $46.1 billion, while identical sales excluding fuel and labor disputes rose 1.0%. Growth was driven by eCommerce, pharmacy, Fresh, and Our Brands, though partially offset by the Inflation Reduction Act, a customer shift toward generic prescriptions, and egg deflation. eCommerce sales grew 13%, led by Delivery solutions, and the segment, including Media, achieved profitability. Adjusted net earnings per diluted share increased 6% to $1.58. Gross margin declined to 22.7% due to higher fuel sales, increased transportation costs, and egg deflation, which were partially offset by improved pharmacy margins and eCommerce profitability. Operating profit rose to $1.4 billion, supported by OG&A efficiencies and fuel earnings. Capital investments totaled $1.5 billion, primarily for store projects. Total debt decreased by $571 million, including a $500 million senior note payment, and the company repurchased $213 million in common shares. Liquidity remains robust with $2.9 billion in cash and temporary investments. Key financial risks include merger-related litigation concerning the terminated Albertsons transaction, ongoing opioid settlement obligations, and labor disputes in Colorado.

Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 11, 2026; filed Sep 11, 2026.

Create a free account to continue

KR company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.