Citable filing context
NEE's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with acquisition from Sep 14, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 14, 2026 | acquisition | NextEra Energy and Dominion Energy announced an enhanced Virginia benefits package for their proposed merger. |
| Sep 3, 2026 | acquisition | NextEra Energy shareholders approved the issuance of common stock for its pending merger with Dominion Energy. |
| Aug 25, 2026 | acquisition | NextEra Energy issued supplemental disclosures to its joint proxy statement regarding its pending acquisition of Dominion Energy. |
| Jul 24, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps | 3.92 to 4.02 |
| Jul 24, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps_growth | 8.00 to not reported |
| Jul 24, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_eps_growth | 8.00 to not reported |
| Jul 24, 2026 | mda_quarterly | NextEra Energy (NEE) reported strong financial performance for the first half of 2026, driven by growth at both Florida Power & Light (FPL) and NextEra Energy Resources (NEER). Net income attributable to NEE rose to $5.33 billion for the six months ended June 30, 2026, compared to $2.86 billion in the prior-year period. FPL’s results were bolstered by a $6.6 billion increase in average rate base, supported by ongoing investments in solar generation and transmission and distribution infrastructure. FPL continues to operate under the 2025 rate agreement, utilizing the Reserve Amortization Mechanism (RSM) to manage regulatory returns. NEER’s performance benefited from new wind and solar investments and the absence of the $0.7 billion impairment charge related to its XPLR investment recorded in 2025. NEER also completed two strategic acquisitions: Symmetry Energy Solutions, a commercial natural gas business, and Caliber Resource Partners, which holds non-operating interests in U.S. shale basins. NEE and Dominion Energy have entered into a definitive merger agreement, with an anticipated closing in the second half of 2027, subject to regulatory and shareholder approvals. Key risks include regulatory and legislative changes affecting clean energy tax credits, potential impacts from trade investigations on equipment imports, and ongoing litigation, including a settled securities class action. |
| Apr 23, 2026 | mda_quarterly | NextEra Energy repurchased 401,392 common shares at an average price of $93.80 during the first quarter of 2026, primarily to cover employee tax obligations from stock awards. The company retains authorization to repurchase an additional 180 million shares under an existing program. Separately, three senior executives, including CEO John W. Ketchum, adopted Rule 10b5-1 trading plans in January 2026 to sell a combined 378,253 shares of NEE common stock through early 2027. NextEra Energy Capital Holdings, Inc. (NEE Capital) was active in the debt markets, issuing several debentures. This included fixed-rate debentures with maturities between 2030 and 2056, carrying coupon rates from 2.989% to 5.85%. Notably, NEE Capital issued €1 billion of Series X Junior Subordinated Debentures and €750 million of Series Y Junior Subordinated Debentures, both due February 2056. These euro-denominated instruments feature initial fixed interest rates (4.200% and 4.750%, respectively) that transition to variable rates based on the Five-Year Euro Swap Rate. These debentures also include provisions for optional interest deferral and specific redemption triggers tied to tax, rating agency, or repurchase events, indicating complex financing structures. A Purchase Contract Agreement was also established, outlining terms for units involving debentures and common stock purchase contracts, with annual contract adjustment payments of 3.375%. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 14, 2026; filed Sep 14, 2026.
NEE company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.