Citable filing context
NEM's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with management_change from Aug 20, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 20, 2026 | management_change | Newmont appointed Peter David Beaven as an independent director and Audit Committee member, effective September 1, 2026. |
| Aug 13, 2026 | material_agreement | Newmont and Barrick amended their Nevada Gold Mines joint venture agreement, including a $1.95 billion cash payment. |
| Jul 23, 2026 | earnings | Newmont reported Q2 2026 net income of $2.2 billion and declared a quarterly dividend of $0.26 per share. |
| Jul 23, 2026 | Guidance: attributable_gold_production | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 23, 2026 | Guidance: development_capital | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 23, 2026 | Guidance: sustaining_capital | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 23, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Newmont Corporation’s financial performance for the first half of 2026 reflects a transition period marked by the completion of a major divestiture program and the commercial production of the Ahafo North project in Ghana. Net income attributable to stockholders rose to $5.46 billion, driven primarily by higher realized gold and silver prices, which offset lower gold sales volumes. Operational results were significantly impacted by the Cadia seismic event in Australia, which caused a temporary suspension of underground mining and a sharp increase in all-in sustaining costs (AISC) for that segment. Additionally, Newmont is currently in a legal dispute with Barrick Gold regarding the Nevada Gold Mines (NGM) joint venture, having issued a notice of default over alleged resource diversion. In Ghana, the expiration of the Revised Investment Agreement has introduced a more challenging fiscal environment, including a higher corporate tax rate of 35% and a revised sliding-scale royalty framework (5% to 12%). While Newmont maintains a strong liquidity position with $9.01 billion in cash and cash equivalents, the company faces ongoing headwinds from inflationary pressures on labor, energy, and materials, alongside potential volatility from geopolitical tensions and evolving regulatory regimes across its global operations. |
| Apr 23, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Newmont reported a significant increase in net income to $3,262 million for the three months ended March 31, 2026, up from $1,891 million in the prior year, primarily driven by higher average realized gold and silver prices. Consolidated sales rose to $7,307 million, with gold sales benefiting from a realized price of $4,900 per ounce, despite lower gold ounces sold. Costs applicable to sales decreased due to the completion of a divestiture program in 2025, which included assets like Telfer, CC&V, and Akyem. Excluding divestitures, costs increased from higher royalties, worker's participation, and contracted services at the newly commercial Ahafo North project in Ghana. The company faces increased operating costs in Ghana due to the expiration of a stability agreement, resulting in a higher corporate tax rate (35% from 32.5%), a new sliding-scale royalty (5-12% of gold revenues), and a 1% Growth and Sustainability Levy. Newmont also issued a notice of default to Barrick regarding alleged mismanagement and resource diversion at the NGM joint venture in Nevada. Production varied across sites, with Lihir, Cadia, Boddington, Ahafo South, and Peñasquito experiencing lower gold production, while Merian, Cerro Negro, Yanacocha, Brucejack, and NGM saw increases. Cadia's underground operations were temporarily suspended in April 2026 due to an earthquake. Newmont maintains strong liquidity with $8,775 million in cash and equivalents, monitoring ongoing geopolitical and macroeconomic pressures. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Aug 20, 2026; filed Aug 20, 2026.
NEM company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.