Citable filing context
PGR's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with earnings from Sep 18, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 18, 2026 | earnings | Progressive reported August 2026 net income of $951 million and net premiums written of $7.61 billion. |
| Aug 19, 2026 | earnings | Progressive reported July 2026 net income of $961 million and net premiums written of $7.44 billion. |
| Aug 10, 2026 | other | The company declared a quarterly dividend of $0.10 per share and released a report on its catastrophe reinsurance program. |
| Oct 15, 2024 | Guidance: property_business_losses_alae | not reported to 200.00 |
| Oct 15, 2024 | Guidance: vehicle_business_losses | 325.00 to not reported |
| May 20, 2020 | Guidance: credit_to_personal_auto_customers | 506.50 to not reported |
| Aug 3, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Progressive Corporation reported strong second-quarter 2026 results, achieving a 12.7% companywide underwriting profit margin and surpassing 40 million policies in force. Net premiums written grew 5% to $21.1 billion, supported by 9% growth in personal auto policies. Both Personal Lines and Commercial Lines segments remained profitable, with margins of 12.4% and 14.7%, respectively. Profitability faced slight pressure from a 0.6-point increase in the loss and loss adjustment expense ratio, driven by higher claim severity—particularly in bodily injury—and a 0.5-point increase in the underwriting expense ratio due to a 16% rise in advertising spend. The company continues to prioritize growth, utilizing aggressive advertising and agent incentives, while maintaining a focus on bundling "Robinson" households. Investment results were mixed; while net investment income bolstered net income, total comprehensive income declined by $669 million due to unrealized losses on fixed-maturity securities amid rising interest rates. The company maintains a conservative capital position, with a debt-to-total capital ratio of 19.6% and sufficient liquidity to support operations. Management remains focused on long-term value, actively monitoring inflation, repair costs, and competitive shopping trends to adjust pricing and underwriting strategies on a state-by-state basis. |
| May 4, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Progressive achieved strong first-quarter 2026 profitability with a 13.6% companywide underwriting margin, writing $23.6 billion in net premiums (+6%) and increasing policies in force by 9%. Personal Lines, representing 83% of net premiums, grew 7% in premiums and 9% in policies, primarily driven by personal auto. Personal property reported a 21.7% underwriting margin, benefiting from low catastrophe losses, though growth was impacted by strategic actions to reduce exposure in volatile weather markets and prioritize bundled policies. Personal auto rates decreased slightly, while personal property rates increased about 1%. Commercial Lines saw 3% growth in net premiums and policies, largely due to transportation network company (TNC) renewals with higher projected mileage. Excluding TNC, core commercial auto net premiums written declined 1%, influenced by a mix shift to 6-month policies and business market targets with lower average premiums, with rates remaining flat. Net income rose $251 million, but total comprehensive income decreased $1.2 billion due to unrealized losses on fixed-maturity securities. The $94.1 billion investment portfolio generated a 0.1% FTE total return, with fixed-income duration at 3.5 years and an AA- credit quality. Advertising spend increased 20% to $1.5 billion. Personal auto policy life expectancy decreased 8% year-over-year due to mix shifts and increased competition, while core commercial auto retention improved 5%. Tariffs are identified as a potential risk for higher loss costs. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 18, 2026; filed Sep 18, 2026.
PGR company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.