Citable filing context
SHOP's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with earnings from Aug 5, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 5, 2026 | earnings | Shopify reported Q2 2026 revenue of $3.58 billion, a 34% year-over-year increase. |
| Jul 2, 2026 | management_change | Prashanth Mahendra-Rajah resigned from Shopify's board of directors and Audit Committee, effective July 2, 2026. |
| Jun 16, 2026 | other | Shopify announced 2026 annual meeting results, electing 10 directors and reappointing PwC as auditors on June 16, 2026. |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: free_cash_flow_margin | not reported to not reported |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: gross_profit_growth | not reported to not reported |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: operating_expenses_as_percentage_of_revenue | 33.00 to 34.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Shopify reported strong growth for the second quarter of 2026, with total revenue rising 34% year-over-year to $3.58 billion. This performance was driven by a 22% increase in Subscription Solutions, fueled by higher Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) and increased adoption of Shopify Plus, and a 37% surge in Merchant Solutions. The latter was primarily propelled by Shopify Payments, which saw its penetration rate climb to 68%, facilitating $78.1 billion in Gross Merchandise Volume (GMV). Operating expenses rose to $1.22 billion, reflecting increased investment in marketing programs and AI-related infrastructure costs. Notably, transaction and loan losses spiked 76% to $141 million, attributed to an expansion of lending services and higher payment processing volumes. Despite these costs, the company achieved an operating income of $488 million. Liquidity remains robust, with $4.9 billion in cash, cash equivalents, and marketable securities. During the quarter, Shopify aggressively utilized its capital, repurchasing $1.4 billion of Class A subordinate voting shares under an expanded $5 billion authorization. Management noted that while seasonality typically impacts fourth-quarter results, the rapid growth of Merchant Solutions continues to influence revenue mix and may increase future seasonal volatility. |
| May 5, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Total revenues grew 34% year-over-year to $3.17 billion for the quarter ended March 31, 2026. Merchant solutions revenue rose 39% to $2.42 billion, primarily driven by Shopify Payments, which facilitated $67.1 billion in GMV—a 41% increase—and reached a 67% penetration rate. Subscription solutions revenue increased 21% to $750 million, fueled by growth in monthly recurring revenue and adoption of higher-priced plans like Shopify Plus. While income from operations improved to $382 million, the company reported a net loss of $581 million, largely due to $1.08 billion in unrealized losses on equity investments. Operating expenses rose, with AI-related usage increasing cloud, infrastructure, and R&D costs. Transaction and loan losses grew 55% to $116 million, reflecting expanded lending offerings and higher processed GMV. Liquidity remains robust with $5.7 billion in cash and marketable securities and $7.4 billion in working capital. Shopify executed $514 million of a newly authorized $2 billion share repurchase program. Additionally, the company is transitioning its Shopify Capital product in Canada from merchant cash advances to loans effective April 2026 to comply with amended Canadian regulations. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Aug 5, 2026; filed Aug 5, 2026.
SHOP company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.