Citable filing context
SHW's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with debt_offering from Sep 29, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 29, 2026 | debt_offering | Sherwin-Williams entered into a $750 million senior unsecured term loan agreement maturing September 23, 2027. |
| Jul 28, 2026 | earnings | Sherwin-Williams reported Q2 2026 net sales of $6.79 billion, a 7.5% increase, and raised full-year 2026 earnings guidance. |
| Jun 9, 2026 | debt_offering | Sherwin-Williams extended the maturity of $200 million in credit commitments to June 20, 2031. |
| Jul 28, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_diluted_eps | 11.80 to 12.20 |
| Jul 28, 2026 | Guidance: diluted_eps | 10.92 to 11.32 |
| Jul 28, 2026 | Guidance: revenue | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 28, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Sherwin-Williams reported strong financial performance for the second quarter of 2026, with consolidated net sales increasing 7.5% to $6.789 billion. This growth was driven by all three reportable segments—Paint Stores Group, Consumer Brands Group, and Performance Coatings Group—and bolstered by the October 2025 acquisition of Suvinil. Diluted net income per share rose 14.3% to $3.43, while adjusted diluted net income per share grew 9.5% to $3.70. The company continues to navigate a "softer-for-longer" demand environment characterized by inflation in raw materials, energy, and logistics. Despite these headwinds, the Paint Stores Group achieved a 4.2% increase in same-store sales, supported by price increases and volume growth in protective, marine, and commercial markets. The Consumer Brands Group saw a 21.5% sales surge, largely attributed to the Suvinil acquisition. Liquidity remains robust, with $293.5 million in cash and $1.969 billion in unused credit capacity. Management maintains a disciplined capital allocation strategy, returning $2.232 billion to shareholders through dividends and share repurchases during the first half of 2026. Key risks include ongoing environmental remediation liabilities, particularly at the Gibbsboro, New Jersey site, and potential exposure from pending lead pigment litigation and recent quality-related claims involving Firetex intumescent coatings. |
| Apr 28, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Consolidated net sales increased 6.8% to $5.667 billion in the first quarter of 2026, with diluted net income per share rising 7.5% to $2.15. Gross profit margin expanded to 49.1%, supported by strategic pricing and moderating raw material costs. The Paint Stores Group saw a 3.7% sales increase, driven by double-digit growth in protective and marine markets, though new residential demand declined. The Consumer Brands Group grew 19.2%, primarily due to the acquisition of Suvinil in Brazil, which offset soft DIY demand in North America. Performance Coatings sales rose 6.5%, led by strong performance in Automotive Refinish and General Industrial. Management identifies a "softer-for-longer" demand environment and potential geopolitical inflation affecting raw materials, energy, and logistics as primary headwinds. Liquidity remains robust with $2.443 billion in unused credit capacity, enabling $772.7 million in shareholder returns through dividends and share repurchases. Significant long-term risks include environmental remediation liabilities, particularly at the Gibbsboro, New Jersey site, and ongoing lead-based paint litigation. Capital expenditures were heavily influenced by the completion of a new global headquarters and technology center, though core CapEx for 2026 is targeted at approximately 2% of net sales. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 29, 2026; filed Sep 29, 2026.
SHW company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.