Citable filing context
SYF's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with other from Sep 14, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 14, 2026 | other | Synchrony Financial disclosed monthly charge-off and delinquency statistics for the period ended August 31, 2026. |
| Aug 17, 2026 | other | Synchrony Financial reported monthly charge-off and delinquency statistics for the period ended July 31, 2026. |
| Jul 31, 2026 | debt_offering | Synchrony Financial agreed to issue $600 million in 2030 notes and $500 million in 2037 notes. |
| Aug 5, 2025 | Guidance: portfolio_acquisition_completion | not reported to not reported |
| Aug 5, 2025 | Guidance: reserve | 50.00 to 50.00 |
| Mar 5, 2024 | Guidance: eps | 5.70 to 6.00 |
| Jul 23, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Synchrony Financial (SYF) reported net earnings of $885 million for the second quarter of 2026, down from $967 million in the prior-year period, while six-month earnings remained flat at $1.7 billion. The company operates through five sales platforms—Home & Auto, Digital, Diversified & Value, Health & Wellness, and Lifestyle—financing $49.8 billion in purchase volume during the quarter. Growth was bolstered by the April 2026 acquisition of a $0.7 billion Lowe’s commercial co-branded credit card portfolio. Asset quality improved, with the net charge-off rate falling 27 basis points to 5.43% for the quarter. Management expects the full-year 2026 net charge-off rate to remain below its 5.5%–6.0% long-term target. Loan receivables reached $102.2 billion, reflecting higher purchase volume offset by elevated customer payment rates. Funding remains stable, with deposits comprising 83% of total funding. The company maintains a strong liquidity position, including a $19.8 billion liquidity portfolio and $13.1 billion in Federal Reserve discount window capacity. Capital deployment remains a priority; SYF repurchased $1.8 billion in common stock during the first half of 2026 and announced a dividend increase to $0.34 per share for the third quarter, supported by a $5.7 billion remaining share repurchase authorization. |
| Apr 23, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Net earnings for the first quarter of 2026 rose to $805 million, driven by a $171 million increase in net interest income and a $156 million reduction in the provision for credit losses. Net interest income growth resulted from lower interest expenses and higher loan fees, while the provision decrease reflected lower net charge-offs. Loan receivables remained flat at $100.1 billion, though purchase volume grew 5.6% to $43 billion, led by the Digital and Diversified & Value platforms. Asset quality showed mixed trends: the net charge-off rate improved to 5.42% from 6.38%, but over-30 day delinquencies edged up to 4.54%. Funding remains heavily reliant on deposits, which totaled $82.9 billion and represented 83% of total funding, with the cost of funds declining to 4.04%. Capital returns include a new $6.5 billion open-ended share repurchase program and a planned quarterly dividend increase to $0.34 per share starting in the third quarter. Key operational risks include typical seasonal delinquency increases in the second half of the year and proposed regulatory revisions to risk-weighted asset calculations and the inclusion of accumulated other comprehensive income in Tier 1 capital. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 14, 2026; filed Sep 14, 2026.
SYF company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.