Citable filing context
TFC's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with divestiture from Sep 15, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 15, 2026 | divestiture | Truist Financial Corporation agreed to sell $5.5 billion in auto loans and assets of Regional Acceptance Corporation. |
| Jul 29, 2026 | other | Truist Financial Corporation amended its bylaws to establish an exclusive federal forum for Securities Act claims. |
| Jul 23, 2026 | debt_offering | Truist Financial Corporation issued $1.25 billion of 4.957% fixed-to-floating rate medium-term notes due July 23, 2030. |
| Sep 15, 2026 | Guidance: share_repurchases | not reported to not reported |
| May 7, 2024 | Guidance: revenue | -0.50 to -1.50 |
| May 7, 2024 | Guidance: revenue | not reported to not reported |
| Jul 31, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Truist Financial Corporation reported strong second-quarter 2026 results, with diluted earnings per share rising 37% year-over-year. Net income available to common shareholders reached $1.5 billion, supported by a 5.5% increase in taxable-equivalent revenue. Performance was driven by a 17% surge in noninterest income, particularly in investment banking, trading, and wealth management, alongside disciplined expense management. Net interest income grew slightly by 0.9% as loan growth and higher earning assets offset lower loan spreads and fixed-rate debt repricing. The net interest margin (TE) compressed four basis points to 2.98%. Asset quality remains stable, with nonperforming loans at 0.51% of total loans and leases. While net charge-offs were 50 basis points, the company maintains a robust allowance for credit losses of $5.3 billion. Truist continues to prioritize capital returns, repurchasing $1.2 billion in common stock during the quarter and maintaining a preliminary CET1 ratio of 10.9%. Looking ahead, the company is preparing for a leadership transition, with Michael P. Lyons set to become CEO on September 1, 2026. Management also noted that while the Wholesale Banking reporting unit is sensitive to discount rate fluctuations, current impairment testing indicates no goodwill impairment as of June 30, 2026. |
| May 1, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Truist Financial Corporation reported strong first-quarter 2026 results, with diluted EPS rising 25% year-over-year to $1.09. Net income available to common shareholders reached $1.4 billion, supported by a 5.1% increase in taxable-equivalent revenue. Growth was driven by a 7% expansion in average loans, particularly in commercial and industrial portfolios, and a 12% rise in noninterest income, fueled by strength in investment banking, trading, and wealth management. The net interest margin (TE) remained stable at 3.02%, as fixed-rate asset repricing and loan growth offset liability repricing costs. Asset quality remains a focal point; nonperforming loans (NPLs) rose to 0.50% of total loans, up two basis points from year-end 2025, partly due to updated nonaccrual criteria for indirect auto loans. Net charge-offs were 61 basis points, and the allowance for credit losses (ACL) remained steady at $5.3 billion. Capital levels are robust, with a 10.8% CET1 ratio. The company aggressively returned capital to shareholders, repurchasing $1.1 billion in common stock and paying $645 million in dividends. Management continues to monitor potential goodwill impairment in the Wholesale Banking segment, noting sensitivity to discount rate fluctuations, though no impairment was recognized this quarter. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 15, 2026; filed Sep 15, 2026.
TFC company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.