Citable filing context
TGT's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with earnings from Aug 19, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2026 | earnings | Target reported Q2 2026 GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $4.11, with net sales growing 5.3% to $26.5 billion. |
| Aug 14, 2026 | debt_offering | Target Corporation entered into a new $4.0 billion five-year unsecured revolving credit facility. |
| Jul 22, 2026 | management_change | Target Corporation appointed former 7-Eleven CEO Joe DePinto to its Board of Directors, effective August 1, 2026. |
| Aug 19, 2026 | Guidance: eps | 9.90 to 10.90 |
| Aug 19, 2026 | Guidance: net_sales_growth | not reported to not reported |
| Aug 19, 2026 | Guidance: operating_margin | not reported to not reported |
| Aug 28, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Target reported second quarter 2026 net sales of $26.5 billion, a 5.3% increase year-over-year, driven by a 3.8% surge in comparable sales (3.6% traffic growth, 0.2% average ticket growth) and a 20.1% rise in non-merchandise sales led by Roundel digital advertising. Digitally originated sales grew 8.7%, representing 19.6% of total merchandise sales. Operating income expanded 94.4% to $2.6 billion, significantly boosted by $994 million in IEEPA tariff refunds recognized as a cost-of-sales reduction. Excluding refunds, operating income grew approximately 19%. Gross margin rate expanded 470 basis points to 33.7%, benefiting from tariff refunds, lower purchase order cancellation costs, and advertising growth. GAAP and Adjusted EPS reached $4.11, containing a $1.65 after-tax tariff refund benefit. SG&A expense rate rose to 21.6% due to increased store payroll, incentive compensation, and store investments. Top product categories included Food & Beverage (23%) and Household Essentials (18%). Target opened 17 stores, ending with 2,019. Year-to-date operating cash flow reached $4.5 billion, while capital expenditures rose to $2.4 billion. Target secured a new $4.0 billion revolving credit facility through 2031, repaid $1.0 billion in debt, paid $518 million in second-quarter dividends, and repurchased no shares. Key risks include newly instituted U.S. administration tariffs and uncertain ongoing trade policies. |
| May 29, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Net sales for the first quarter of 2026 rose 6.7% to $25.4 billion, driven by a 5.6% increase in comparable sales, which reflected a 4.4% rise in traffic and a 1.1% increase in average transaction amounts. Adjusted operating income grew 29.1% to $1.1 billion, and adjusted diluted EPS increased 31.6% to $1.71. Growth was significantly supported by the Roundel digital advertising business, which contributed to a 24.6% increase in non-merchandise sales. Gross margin expanded to 29.0%, aided by lower markdown rates and advertising revenue, though partially offset by higher product costs. Digitally originated comparable sales grew 8.9%. A primary risk remains the volatile trade environment; while the company is pursuing IEEPA tariff refunds through the CAPE system, new administration tariffs on imports—particularly from China—threaten future margins. Operationally, the company is executing a multi-year business transformation to optimize organizational structure and technology. Financial liquidity remains stable with $3.5 billion in cash, a reduction in inventory to $12.3 billion, and the repayment of $1.0 billion in unsecured debt. Trailing twelve-month after-tax ROIC declined to 12.4% from 15.1% in the prior year. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Aug 19, 2026; filed Aug 19, 2026.
TGT company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.