Citable filing context
WFC's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with debt_offering from Sep 24, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2026 | debt_offering | Wells Fargo issued $6 billion in senior redeemable fixed-to-floating rate notes due in 2030 and 2037. |
| Sep 23, 2026 | management_change | Wells Fargo appointed Scott E. Powell as Chief Risk Officer effective January 15, 2027. |
| Aug 19, 2026 | other | Wells Fargo sold 1,750,000 depositary shares representing its 6.55% Series HH preferred stock. |
| Jul 14, 2026 | Guidance: common_stock_dividend | not reported to not reported |
| Jan 29, 2026 | Guidance: return_on_average_tangible_common_equity | 17.00 to 18.00 |
| Jan 14, 2026 | Guidance: return_on_tangible_common_equity | 17.00 to 18.00 |
| Jul 28, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Wells Fargo & Company reported strong financial performance for the second quarter of 2026, with net income of $6.4 billion and diluted earnings per share of $2.00, up from $5.5 billion and $1.60 in the prior-year period. Total revenue rose 9% to $22.6 billion, driven by a 13% increase in noninterest income and a 5% rise in net interest income. The latter benefited from lower average deposit costs and growth in loan and investment securities balances, despite a compression in net interest margin to 2.43% due to shifts in asset mix toward lower-yielding Markets business assets. Credit quality remains resilient, with total nonperforming assets decreasing to $7.9 billion. The allowance for credit losses (ACL) for loans stood at $14.4 billion, or 1.40% of total loans. While the provision for credit losses increased to $2.1 billion for the first half of 2026, this was largely attributed to loan growth in the commercial and industrial and auto portfolios. Capital levels remain robust, with a Common Equity Tier 1 (CET1) ratio of 10.26% under the Standardized Approach, comfortably exceeding regulatory requirements. The company continues to prioritize efficiency, reporting a 60% efficiency ratio for the quarter, supported by ongoing expense management initiatives. |
| Apr 29, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Wells Fargo reported first quarter 2026 net income of $5.3 billion and diluted earnings per share of $1.60, representing increases of 7% and 15% year-over-year, respectively. Total revenue grew 6% to $21.4 billion, propelled by a 5% rise in net interest income, attributed to lower deposit costs and higher loan and investment securities balances, alongside an 8% increase in noninterest income from higher investment advisory fees, card fees, and equity gains. Noninterest expense increased 3% to $14.3 billion, primarily due to higher advertising, technology, and personnel costs. Provision for credit losses rose 22% to $1.1 billion, reflecting increased commercial and industrial and auto loan balances, partially offset by lower commercial real estate and credit card allowances. Average loans expanded 10% year-over-year, driven by commercial and industrial, and auto portfolios, while average deposits increased 6%. Credit quality showed mixed trends, with commercial net charge-offs rising to 0.24% of average loans, but consumer net charge-offs declining to 0.78%. Nonperforming assets increased to $8.8 billion. The company maintained robust capital and liquidity, with a Standardized CET1 ratio of 10.29% and an LCR of 120%, both exceeding regulatory minimums. Wells Fargo repurchased 46 million common shares for $4.0 billion during the quarter. The Federal Reserve Board terminated its consent order regarding governance and operational risk management. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Sep 24, 2026; filed Sep 24, 2026.
WFC company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.