Citable filing context
XYZ's research view summarizes recent SEC filing context, starting with earnings from Aug 5, 2026.
| Filed | Item | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 5, 2026 | earnings | Block, Inc. reported Q2 2026 gross profit of $3.17 billion, up 25% year-over-year, and raised full-year guidance. |
| Jun 18, 2026 | other | Block, Inc. held its 2026 annual meeting, electing four directors and ratifying Ernst & Young LLP as auditor. |
| Jun 5, 2026 | management_change | Block, Inc. announced that Engineering Lead Arnaud Weber departed the company on June 5, 2026. |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_diluted_eps | not reported to 4.02 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: adjusted_operating_income | not reported to 3.47 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Guidance: gross_profit | not reported to 12.51 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | mda_quarterly | XYZ reported second-quarter 2026 gross profit of $3.2 billion, a 25% year-over-year increase. The Cash App segment was a primary growth driver, with gross profit rising 31% to $2.0 billion, fueled by the expansion of Cash App Borrow and Cash App Card. The Square segment contributed $1.2 billion in gross profit, up 13%, supported by processing volume growth, particularly among food and beverage sellers, and software services. Financial performance was impacted by a significant workforce restructuring plan initiated in February 2026, which reduced headcount by over 40%. While this resulted in $495 million in restructuring charges, the company expects annualized cost savings of $800 million to $900 million. Operating expenses were further pressured by $548.7 million in litigation and regulatory accruals. Additionally, loan losses rose 177% to $433.9 million, reflecting increased origination volumes in Cash App Borrow and Afterpay. The company maintains a strong liquidity position with $8.8 billion in available resources. During the quarter, XYZ settled $1.6 billion in maturing debt and continued its share repurchase program, having utilized $4.4 billion of its $9 billion authorization. Bitcoin ecosystem revenue declined 13% due to lower trading volumes and market prices, though it remains a minor contributor to total gross profit. |
| May 7, 2026 | mda_quarterly | Gross profit for the first quarter of 2026 rose 27% year-over-year to $2.9 billion, driven primarily by Cash App’s $1.9 billion gross profit (+38%) and growth in Cash App Borrow. Square generated $981.5 million in gross profit (+9%), supported by Square Loans. Despite these gains, the company reported a net loss of $308.7 million, influenced by a $172.8 million bitcoin remeasurement loss and a significant restructuring. A February 2026 workforce plan cut headcount by over 40%, resulting in $495.3 million in first-quarter charges but targeting $800 million to $900 million in annualized cost savings. Revenue growth was strong in financial solutions (+51%) and commerce enablement (+14%), the latter bolstered by Food and Beverage sellers and Afterpay Post-Purchase. However, transaction, loan, and consumer receivable losses surged 195% to $500.1 million, reflecting the scaling of Cash App Borrow and Afterpay. General and administrative expenses also increased due to $253.8 million in litigation and regulatory accruals. The company maintains $9.1 billion in liquidity and repurchased $636 million of Class A common stock during the quarter. |
Source: SEC EDGAR filing text and events; period Aug 5, 2026; filed Aug 5, 2026.
XYZ company research is free during early access. All you need is an account, with no card required. The five showcase tickers (TSLA, NVDA, AAPL, AMZN, PLTR) and the macro dashboard stay open without one.
Continue research
Follow same-sector companies and source explainers connected to the research view.
A factual guide to SEC Form 8-K current reports and the material company events they can disclose between quarterly filings.
A factual guide to quarterly SEC Form 10-Q reports, how they differ from annual 10-K filings, and what readers can inspect first.
A factual guide to Form S-1 registration statements and the disclosures companies provide before a public offering.
A factual guide to the core 10-K sections investors use for company context: business description, risk factors, MD&A, financial statements, and segment disclosures.